Paul Davis interns at Historical and Genealogical Society of Indiana County

Paul Davis recounts his fall 2012 internship experience:

I interned at the Indiana County Historical Society in Indiana Pa. Because of the experience I have gained I left the society feeling very good about my future. I did a variety of jobs while working there and I did that by design. The Historical Society performs a number of functions relating to history and I wanted to gain as much experience as I could. I assisted many people in their research pursuits and in turn I learned the ins and outs of library administration. I gained valuable museum work experience in a variety of ways, such as composing exhibit text. I expanded my computer skills by creating catalog entries for their artifact database, as well as worked in member services in maintaining information in the membership database. I also did many non-history related jobs that are essential to keeping a small Historical Society like that afloat, like building shelves for artifacts and general cleaning duties. I did so many jobs in one given week that it is impossible to truly describe in detail all that I did during my time there. In the end I feel that the variety that I strove for has paid off. I am grateful for my time working there and I know the experience that I have gained will be invaluable to me in the future.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

